And the James Beard Foundation Nominees Are...

 The James Beard Foundation announced its 2022 Lifetime Achievement and Humanitarian of the Year Award honorees, Leadership Award winners, and Restaurant and Chef Award Nominees in advance of the returning James Beard Awards ceremonies where the winners will be celebrated on Monday, June 13, 2022, at the Lyric Opera of Chicago.  
Lifetime Achievement Award
The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual whose lifetime body of work has had a positive and long-lasting impact on the way we eat, cook, and/or think about food in America. This year’s winner is TV cooking show host, cookbook author, and master chef Martin Yan
Humanitarian of the Year Award
 The Humanitarian of the Year Award is given to an individual or organization working in the food realm who has given selflessly and worked tirelessly to better the lives of others and society at large. This year’s winner is James Beard Award-winning cookbook author, culinary historian, and filmmaker Grace Young for her work to save America’s Chinatowns amid Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) hate during the COVID-19 pandemic. 
Leadership Awards
 The James Beard Foundation’s Leadership Awards spotlight the important and complex realms of sustainability, food justice, and public health. They raise awareness of these timely issues by celebrating the visionaries responsible for creating a healthier, safer, more equitable, and sustainable food system. 
-Mónica Ramírez, Founder and President, Justice for Migrant Women
-Irene Li, Co-founder, Mei Mei Dumplings and Prepshift
-Erika Allen, Co-founder and CEO of Operations, Urban Growers Collective 
-Mavis-Jay Sanders, Director of Culinary Development and Education, Drive Change
-Emerging Leadership: Understory, Oakland, CA 

Local Restaurant and Chef Nominees
 The James Beard Foundation’s Restaurant and Chef Awards were established in 1990 with the first awards given in 1991 and is one of five recognition programs of the Awards. 

Outstanding Restaurateur 
-Ashok Bajaj, Knightsbridge Restaurant Group (Rasika, Bindaas, Annabelle, and others), Washington, D.C.

Outstanding Chef 
-Peter Chang, Peter Chang, VA and MD

Emerging Chef
 -Angel Barreto, Anju, Washington, D.C.

Best New Restaurant
-Oyster Oyster, Washington, D.C.

Outstanding Wine Program
-Maydan, Washington, D.C.

Outstanding Bar Program
-barmini by José Andrés, Washington, D.C.

Best Chefs: Mid-Atlantic (DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA, VA) 
-Angel Barreto, Anju, Washington, D.C.
-Amy Brandwein, Centrolina, Washington, D.C.

Congratulations to all the nominees! The full list of honorees, winners, and nominees can be found below and on the James Beard Foundation website.