And The RAMMY Goes to...


The gang was all there last Sunday evening for the 40th Annual RAMMY Awards. The Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) hosted their annual gala that kicked off with all the winners being announced. It was an evening of joy and celebration of our hospitality leaders and their incredible excellence.

The winners of the 2022 RAMMY Awards are (*denotes publicly voted category*):
- Rising Culinary Star of the Year: Christian Irabien, Muchas Gracias
- Pastry Chef of the Year: Francois Yann Buisine, Un je ne sais Quoi
- Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year: Congressional Seafood
- Employee of the Year: Herman Machado, The Salt Line - Navy Yard
- Manager of the Year: Robert Heim, Shaw's Tavern
- Service Program of the Year: Tail Up Goat
- Splendid Holidays at Home*: Unconventional Diner
- Hottest Sandwich Spot*: Mangialardo's 
- Favorite Gathering Place of the Year*: Casta's Rum Bar
- Favorite Fast Bites*: Little Miner Taco 
- Outstanding Pop-Up Concept*: Bun Papa
- Standout Family Meal Packages To Go*: 2 Fifty Texas BBQ
- Best Brunch of the Year*: A&J Restaurant
- Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year: Albi
- Casual Restaurant of the Year: Ruthie’s All-Day
- Wine Program of the Year: Queen’s English
- Cocktail Program of the Year: Serenata
- Beer Program of the Year: Quarry House Tavern
- Chef of the Year: Rob Rubba, Oyster Oyster
- Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: Cranes
- New Restaurant of the Year: Daru
- Restaurateur of the Year: Scott Drewno and Danny Lee, The Fried Rice Collective
Also! The 2022 Honorary Milestone RAMMY Award recipients were also honored, celebrating a significant number of years serving locals and visitors in Metropolitan Washington: 1789 and The Tombs (60 years), Anthony’s Restaurant (50 years), Bombay Bistro (30 years), Duangrat’s (35 years), El Tamarindo (40 years), Franklins (30 years), La Côte d’Or Café (30 years), Mike’s American (35 years), and Tabard Inn (100 years).

And lastly, Scott Drewno has one more thing to say …